The Board of Trustees:
Mr Wayne Alexander, Chairperson of the Board, Director of Focus Schools, Western Cape Education Department; Chief Curriculum Advisor, Eastern Metropole, WCED; past Principal Subject Advisor, Physical and Health Education, WCED; educationalist; teacher unionist; youth development worker; human rights activist.

Ms Vivienne Carelse, Deputy Chairperson of the Board, Deputy Director-General, Education Development, in the Office of the D-G, National Department of Education; past National Education and Development Director of Iziko, Museums of South Africa; past Principal Subject Advisor, Arts Education, WCED; teacher unionist; educational development worker; women’s rights activist.

Ms Shirley Moulder, development worker, researcher and management consultant; corporate and NGO governance specialist; former Africa Director: Ashoka – Innovators for the Public.

Ms Siyanda Zondeki, Regional Head of the Department of Labour, Provincial Government of the Western Cape; specialist in skills development, poverty alleviation programmes, and the accreditation of Further Education & Training programmes.

Ms Mushahida Adhikhari, attorney with Jan S. de Villiers, Cape Town, specialising in commercial litigation; former project manager of the non-profit organisations legal support unit of the Legal Resources Centre.

Members of EMEP’s founding Initiative Group as well as founding Trustees were:

Ms Sue Davidoff, organisational and educational development consultant, founding and former Director of the Teacher In-Service Project (TIP), University of the Western Cape (UWC).

Prof. Sandy Lazarus, Head of the Dept. of Educational Psychology and Support Services, UWC; member of, and contributing author to, the NEPI research group into Support Services.

Mr Mzwandile Msoki, Public Service Commissioner, Eastern Cape Provincial Government; organisation development consultant; Trustee of CDRA.

Also founding Trustees were:

Prof. Nasima Badsha, scientist; Deputy Director-General in National Ministry of Education; chairperson of the Cape Higher Education Consortium.

Mr Greg Erasmus, Government Affairs Manager, Nedcor; past consultant to Ministry of Public Works; researcher and business consultant; former Deputy Director of CRICand manager of the Woodlands People’s Centre.

Prof. John Murphy, judge of the Supreme Court; former National Pension Fund Adjudicator; Associate Professor and Head of Department of Public Law in the Faculty of Law, UWC; Senior Commissioner for Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration (CCMA).

Prof. Mandla Tshabalala, Deputy-Rector, Cape Peninsula University of Technology; former Head of Faculty of Social Work, University of Cape Town; social worker; educationalist. Ms Phuti Tsukudu, educational management and organisation development consultant; community development worker; women’s rights activist.